Best Self-Cleaning Litter Boxes for Multiple Cats
Compare four automatic litter boxes for multi-cat homes by cat limits, weight range, entry size, litter type and app features, plus extra-box advice.
For a multi-cat home, the most useful things to check on an automatic litter box are the manufacturer’s stated maximum number of cats, the cat weight range, the entry size and the litter it accepts. Of the four boxes below, the Litter-Robot 5 lists up to 5 cats and the Litter-Robot 4 lists up to 4, while the PETKIT and PetSafe models do not state a cat limit. One caution applies to all of them: a self-cleaning box does not replace having enough boxes. According to iCatCare, multi-cat homes need one box per cat plus at least one extra, and automatic boxes can frighten some cats with noise and movement. Many are also on the small side.
Reactions vary from cat to cat. VCA notes that some cats like self-cleaning boxes and others avoid them or are scared by the sound. Think of an automatic box as one part of your litter setup, not the whole setup.
Specifications below were checked against manufacturer pages on 2026-11-02. They can change between models and revisions, so confirm the details on the manufacturer’s page before you buy.
How We Chose
This guide is based on published manufacturer specifications and on cat-welfare and veterinary sources, not on personal use of the products. You can read more about the process on our How We Research page. We compared only what manufacturers state, and we say so when a detail is not stated.
- Maximum number of cats: only where the manufacturer gives one.
- Minimum and maximum cat weight: automatic sensors are built around a weight range.
- Entry and interior size: large cats need room to step in and turn around.
- Compatible litter: some boxes accept several litter types, others only one.
- App features: visit tracking and per-cat weight logs are manufacturer features.
- Safety sensors: included only when the manufacturer describes them.
Here are the cat limits as the manufacturers state them. The Litter-Robot 5 lists up to 5 cats and the Litter-Robot 4 lists up to 4. PETKIT does not state a maximum number of cats. PetSafe describes its box as suitable for "single or multi-cat households" without giving a number or a weight range.
Our Picks
For big cats and larger households: Whisker Litter-Robot 5
This is the model with the highest stated cat count and weight ceiling here, so it fits larger multi-cat homes and big cats. The manufacturer lists a 15.75 by 15.75 inch entry and a 17.5 inch interior height, which is more room than the other boxes in this guide list.
- Capacity: up to 5 cats, for cats weighing 3 to 30 lb. Under 3 lb, the Whisker FAQ says to use semi-automatic mode.
- Entry 15.75 x 15.75 in, interior height 17.5 in, per the manufacturer page.
- Footprint 22 x 27 in, 29.9 in tall, 28.7 lb.
- Litter: standard clay clumping litter. Crystal or white litter may affect level-sensor accuracy.
- Laser and weight sensors, plus an app with visit tracking and WasteID (urine vs. stool). The waste drawer needs emptying "as rarely as every 10 days", according to the manufacturer.
Consider: It is a tall, large unit, so measure the space before ordering. It is also the least flexible on litter, because crystal or white litter may throw off the level sensor. The 10-day drawer figure is the manufacturer’s best case, so actual emptying frequency will depend on how many cats use it.
For up to four cats on clumping clay: Whisker Litter-Robot 4
The Litter-Robot 4 suits households of up to four cats that already use clumping clay. It has the same entry size as the Litter-Robot 5, with a slightly lower weight ceiling and a slightly shorter interior.
- Capacity: up to 4 cats, for cats weighing 3 to 25 lb. Under 3 lb, use semi-automatic mode (Whisker FAQ).
- Entry 15.75 x 15.75 in, interior height 16.5 in, per the manufacturer page.
- Footprint 22 x 27 in, 29.5 in tall, 24 lb.
- Litter: clumping clay recommended. Some crystals work if they pass the screen. White or translucent, plant-based, non-clumping and pellet litters are not recommended.
- Laser and weight sensors, a cycle delay of up to 30 minutes, and an app showing visits and weights for 7 days (longer history with the paid Whisker+). The drawer needs emptying "as rarely as every 8 days", per the manufacturer. Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz only.
Consider: The 25 lb ceiling matters if any of your cats are very large. If your cats use plant-based or other non-clumping litter, this box is not a good match. Weight history beyond 7 days requires the paid subscription.
For smaller cats and tofu or mixed litter: PETKIT PUROBOT MAX 3
This box may suit a smaller household, such as two average-sized cats, that prefers tofu or mixed litter. The manufacturer does not state a maximum number of cats, so confirm that with the company if you have more than two. The entry is noticeably smaller than the Litter-Robot models, so it is a better fit for cats that are not especially large.
- Cats 3.3 to 22 lb, and 6 months or older, per the manufacturer page.
- Entry 10.51 x 10.74 in, entrance height 8.03 in, interior 76 L.
- Waste bin 7 L. Unit 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in, 22 lb.
- Litter: clumping clay, tofu or mixed. Crystal is not listed.
- 12 sensors and an entry that stays permanently open (anti-pinch design). The app shows per-cat visits and weight, and Wi-Fi is 2.4 GHz.
Consider: The small entry may be tight for big or long cats, so measure your largest cat first (see the sizing section below). There is no stated cat limit, and the 7 L waste bin is something to think about if several cats share it. The 22 lb ceiling is lower than both Litter-Robot models.
For crystal litter and disposable trays: PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Litter Box (Front-Entry)
This box suits owners who prefer crystal litter and disposable trays over emptying a waste drawer. The manufacturer describes it as suitable for "single or multi-cat households", but it does not give a cat count or weight range. That makes it less clear for three or more cats.
- Front-entry box measuring 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 in (uncovered 27.6 x 19.1 x 6.2 in), per the manufacturer page.
- Litter: crystal litter only, used in disposable trays.
- Connected through the My PetSafe app, with an LCD counter on the unit.
- Cat limit, weight range, entry size and safety sensors are not stated.
Consider: Because crystal is the only option, cats that prefer clumping clay may not take to it. It also lacks the stated limits that make the Litter-Robot models easier to match to a multi-cat home. Ask the manufacturer about entry size and sensors if you have a large cat.
Side-by-side specs
| Product | Litter type (per manufacturer) | Listed dimensions | App or display |
|---|---|---|---|
| Whisker Litter-Robot 5 | Standard clay clumping; crystal or white litter may affect level sensor | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.9 in tall | App with visit tracking and WasteID |
| Whisker Litter-Robot 4 | Clumping clay recommended; some crystals if they pass the screen | 22 x 27 in footprint, 29.5 in tall | App with visits and weights |
| PETKIT PUROBOT MAX 3 | Clumping clay, tofu or mixed | 24.4 x 21.2 x 21.7 in | App with per-cat visits and weight |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Crystal Smart (Front-Entry) | Crystal only, disposable trays | 27.6 x 19.1 x 15.6 in | My PetSafe app and LCD counter |
What to Know Before Buying
Kittens and minimum weight
Automatic boxes use sensors tuned to a weight range, so check the lower limit before you rely on one in a home with kittens. According to Whisker, cats under 3 lb should use semi-automatic mode rather than fully automatic cycling. The PETKIT lists cats from 3.3 lb and 6 months old.
If you have a kitten and adult cats together, a practical option is to keep a regular open box available for the kitten until it clears the weight minimum on the box you choose.
Box size for large cats
A good rule of thumb is that the box should be about 1.5 times the length of your cat. iCatCare recommends measuring from the nose to the base of the tail. It also notes that many automatic boxes are small, so do not assume a particular model will be roomy enough.
Most automatic boxes do not publish an interior length, so you cannot apply that rule directly. Compare what the manufacturers do list: the Litter-Robot models list a 15.75 inch square entry, while the PETKIT lists an entry of about 10.5 by 10.7 inches. If your biggest cat is long or hesitant at the opening, the entry and interior height are the first things to check.
Noise and introducing the box slowly
The sound and movement of a self-cleaning cycle can bother some cats, and VCA says some avoid these boxes altogether. Introduce a new box alongside the old one rather than replacing it. If the model allows it, you can leave the unit switched off or in a manual mode at first so cats can explore it.
Watch whether each cat still uses the new box. If one cat starts going elsewhere in the house, keep the old box available and talk to your veterinarian, since litter box avoidance can have medical as well as behavioral causes.
Litter compatibility
Litter rules are stricter on automatic boxes than on a plain tray. The Litter-Robot 4 recommends clumping clay and lists plant-based and non-clumping litters as not recommended. The PetSafe accepts only crystal, and the PETKIT accepts clumping clay, tofu or mixed litter. Browse our litter and litter box guides for help comparing litter types.
The ASPCA notes that most cats prefer unscented, clumping litter with a medium to fine texture. If you switch litter to suit a new box, change gradually so your cats have time to adjust.
Still provide enough boxes
One automatic box is not enough for several cats. The ASPCA says to provide one box per cat plus one extra. A maximum cat count from a manufacturer describes what the machine can handle, not what is enough for your cats’ preferences.
Spread boxes across different spots in the home instead of lining them up, so one cat cannot easily guard them all. A self-cleaning box can be one of your boxes, with a simple open tray as the backup. For help with odor around the boxes, see our cleaning and odor control guides.
Health Monitoring Features
Several of these boxes come with apps that log visits and weight. The Litter-Robot 5 app adds visit tracking and WasteID (urine vs. stool), the Litter-Robot 4 app shows visits and weights, and the PETKIT app shows per-cat visits and weight. These are manufacturer features, not diagnostic tools, and they do not replace regular veterinary care.
One practical limit: if your cats weigh about the same, weight-based logs may be less useful for telling them apart. If you notice a change in how often a cat visits the box, bring your log to your veterinarian rather than trying to interpret it yourself.
Some signs need fast action no matter what the app shows. The Cornell Feline Health Center lists straining to urinate, frequent trips to the box and blood in the urine as signs of lower urinary tract problems. It describes straining without producing urine as an emergency, especially in male cats. Contact your veterinarian or an emergency clinic right away if you see this.
Frequently Asked Questions
How many cats can one automatic litter box handle?
It depends on the model. The manufacturer lists up to 5 cats for the Litter-Robot 5 and up to 4 for the Litter-Robot 4. PETKIT does not state a maximum, and PetSafe says only "single or multi-cat households". Even within a stated limit, you should still provide one box per cat plus one extra.
Can kittens use a self-cleaning litter box?
Only if they meet the weight minimum. Whisker says cats under 3 lb should use semi-automatic mode, and the PETKIT lists cats from 3.3 lb and 6 months old. Until a kitten reaches the minimum, an open box is the simpler choice.
Will my cats be scared of an automatic litter box?
Some may be. iCatCare and VCA both note that noise and movement can scare some cats, while others use these boxes without trouble. Introduce the box gradually and keep an existing box available.
What should I look for in a self-cleaning litter box for large cats?
Compare the entry size, interior size and weight limit with your cat’s measurements. The Litter-Robot 5 lists cats up to 30 lb and a 15.75 inch square entry. The PETKIT lists a smaller entry and a 22 lb limit, so measure your largest cat before choosing. Big cats need roomy furniture elsewhere too, such as cat trees built for large cats.
Do automatic litter boxes remove the need for cleaning?
No. They reduce daily scooping, and the manufacturers list waste drawer intervals as long as every 8 to 10 days for the Litter-Robot models, but the box still needs regular emptying and periodic cleaning. Follow the manufacturer’s care instructions for your model.
Sources
- Whisker (Litter-Robot): Frequently Asked Questions
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 5
- Whisker: Litter-Robot 4
- PETKIT: PUROBOT MAX 3 Automatic Cat Litter Box
- PetSafe: ScoopFree Crystal Smart Self-Cleaning Litter Box
- iCatCare: Choosing a litter tray for your cat
- VCA Animal Hospitals: Cat Behavior Problems, House Soiling
- ASPCA: Litter Box Problems
- Cornell Feline Health Center: Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease
